08172017Headline:

Montgomery, Alabama

HomeAlabamaMontgomery

Email Staff Writer Staff Writer on LinkedIn Staff Writer on Twitter Staff Writer on Facebook
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Contributor •

Too many teens die in car accidents

Comments Off

The disturbing statistics about teen deaths in motor vehicle crashes has parents and law enforcement concerned about the safety of our roadways for teens and others. Reports say that car accidents are the leading cause of death for teens ages 15 to 20.

To improve safety on roads, experts say that teens need to practice driving much more with their parents, take driver’s education classes, and limit distractions while driving.

While teens are only required by law to have six hours of in-car driving instruction to get their licenses, some experts say as many as 100 hours should be required.

Alabama’s graduated driver’s license program is an attempt to reduce teen crashes. The program has been in effect since 2002.

Under the program:
A 15-year-old can earn a learner’s permit to drive with a licensed parent or legal guardian.
A 16-year-old licensed driver must have a parent’s permission to drive without supervision.
To get a license, the teen’s parent must verify that the teen has completed a minimum of 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, or complete a state-approved driver’s education course.
A 16-year-old licensed driver cannot drive between midnight and 6 a.m. and with no more than four people in the vehicle.