08212017Headline:

Montgomery, Alabama

HomeAlabamaMontgomery

Email Staff Writer Staff Writer on LinkedIn Staff Writer on Twitter Staff Writer on Facebook
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Contributor •

New law brings stiffer penalties for passing school buses

Comments Off

A recent law signed by Gov. Bob Riley in April raises the penalties for illegally passing a bus loading or unloading students to up to $3,000 in fines and more. This law is part of the state’s push to help prevent motor vehicle accidents and protect our children.

http://firms.injuryboard.comAn article on Montgomeryadvertiser.com details the new law and the positive reaction of the school system.

Mona Davis, a Montgomery Public Schools spokeswoman, said the school system is rallying behind the new law. She said about 15,000 MPS students ride buses to and from school each day and anything that will enhance the children’s safety during their journey is a help.

Under the new law, a first offense will not bring jail time, but the fine will be $150 to $300. A second offense brings $300 to $500 in fines, 100+ hours of community servie and driving privileges revoked for 30 days. A third offense brings a fine of $500 to $1,000, 200 hours of community service and a 90-day driving privilege suspension. A fourth offense is a Class C felony, which carries with it a fine of $1,000 to $3,000 and a on-year driving suspension.

If you or a loved one has suffered an injury as a result of a school bus accident and would like to consult with an attorney, please use the contact form at right to have your questions reviewed by personal injury attorney.